ANU Women's Hockey Club has teams in every grade of the Hockey ACT competition.

In the 2019 competition, we fielded two teams in the State League 1, State League 2 and State League 3 grades, making us one of the biggest clubs in Canberra.


2019 Standings

Capital League 1 1st 2018 Shield 
Capital League 2 1st
State League 1 White 6th
State League 1 Blue 10th
State League 2 White 3rd
State League 2 Blue 6th
State League 3 Blue 4th
State League 3 White 7th
State League 4 7th



2019 Representative Players


Name     Honour
Emily Robson   

Australian Futures Squad
ACTAS Scholarship
Canberra Chill
ACT U21s Outdoor
ACT U18s Outdoor

Tamika Bostock    Australian Country
NSW Country
Wally Gaynor    Australian Country Coach
NSW Country Coach
Jessica Smith    Canberra Chill
ACT Open Indoor
Grace Ronnfeldt

Canberra Chill Squad
ACT U21s Outdoor

Peta Sutherland Canberra Chill Squad
ACT Open Indoor
Shelley Watson Canberra Chill Squad
Jill Millan ACT Over 55s Outdoor
Georgia Phillips    ACT Over 55s Outdoor Coach 
Annie Daley ACT Over 45s Outdoor
Alex Hofman ACT U21s Outdoor
Ashling Donnelly    ACT U18s Outdoor
ACT U18s Indoor
Lucy Jalland ACT U18s Outdoor
ACT U15s Indoor
Amy Spandler ACT U18s Outdoor Umpire
ACT U13s Outdoor Coach
Kelby Pointon ACT Open Indoor
ACT U21s Indoor Umpire
ACT U15s Indoor Coach
Isobel Cowell    ACT U21s Indoor
Annie Burgess ACT U15s Indoor

Back to top


Club History

The Canberra University College was formed in 1930 from the University Association of Canberra but it was not until 1946 that the Australian National University Act was passed by Federal Government to create the ANU. The first academic staff didn’t arrive until 1950 and then  it wasn’t until 1960 that ANU amalgamated with the Canberra University College, with the CUC became the school of general studies with undergraduate students.

In 1946, a club called “University” entered a team in A grade, coming a creditable 4th out of 8 teams.  In 1947 they again entered the competition but only came 7th. The following year they came 3rd and in 1949 they came 4th.

University did not then appear until 1958 when they entered a team in the B grade competition. They remained in the competition as University sometimes with 1, then 2, then 3 teams changing the name to ANU in 1968 which is the name they have kept until present day.  The club has had varying success over the years, expanding and contracting, winning and losing, changing uniforms and even spawning offshoots to overcome grading issues. It is the oldest club in the senior completion.

Back to top


Life Members

1990 Megan Hammond
1990 Margaret Jones
1990 Susan Lucas
1990 Margaret McCaskie
1990 Pat Moessenger
1990 Jenny Mottlee
1990 Catherine Piper
1990 Sue Watt
1991 Alexandra Wedutenko
1993 Cate Rosier
1996 Megan Coombes
1996 Cath Moore
1996 Trish Marskell
1998 Kathryn Hughes
1998 Meegan Summers
2001 Janette Marskell
2009 Karen Hardy
2009 Jemma Martin
2015 Georgia Phillips
2016 Louise Crossman
2018 Cassidy Boyd
2018 Andrew Knight (Honourary)
2019 Rachel Barnsley
2019 Tanya Howitt

Back to top